Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer Review

Hey Makeup Lovies! โค

Fotor_145672206828591 (1)

Today I am going to share with you all a review on the Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer. Ever since this foundation came out a few months ago I had been wanting to get my hands on it. However being that the color selection of Clinique can be quite tricky I really wanted to get color matched to find my correct color. I do have a Clinique counter available at my local Dillard’s however I wanted to get it at Sephora. I waited till I went out of town and visited a free standing Sephora to check out the Clinique section. I got color matched and was given the color 0.5 Breeze. I believe this is the lightest shade available. I couldn’t wait to try it out for 2 reasons. I really love Clinique and their foundations and it’s said to double up as a concealer so double yay! ย So let’s get on to the review!


Fotor_145672245272511

The foundation comes in a large glass sized bottle which I loooove.

Fotor_14567226846294

Back of the bottle information.

Fotor_145672249298949

Bottom of the bottle shows the shade color.

Fotor_145672217607347 (2)

Ingredients

Fotor_145672199995412 (2)

Apparently this foundation is for dry combination to combination oily matte, pretty much for every skin type out there.

Fotor_145672241029340 (2)

Some extra information.

Fotor_145672254488443

For size reference, like I said it’s quite large.

Fotor_145672264163079

When you open the bottle it looks like so.

Fotor_14567222947401 (1)

Without the applicator.

Fotor_145672258623110 (1)

How the applicator looks.

Fotor_145672194393975 (1)

Applicator up close, it’s one of those doe foot applicators. Another reason I wanted to try it lol, it just looked so interesting to find this on a foundation. I thought it helped make it easier to apply onto the face.

Fotor_145672189221565 (1)

A drop of foundation.

Fotor_145672211558471 (1)

Smeared

Fotor_145672224906199 (1)

And completely spread.


So what is the Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer!?

Straight from the Sephora website,ย “What is it: An oil-free foundation and concealer in one that achieves a flawless look that lasts all day.

What it does: This lightweight, moisturizing foundation and concealer provides full coverage without clogging pores. This 12-hour wear, breathable formula is ideal for very dry to combination oily skin types, its special polymer formula forms a flexible film that moves with the skin for lasting wear, and it dries slowly for easy blending. Get lasting coverage and give skin a perfected look that stays put, even through sweat and humidity.

What else you need to know: Just one dip of the wand gives you a full-face application, and it can be used to spot-conceal, too. Due to the rich pigment level that enhances the flawless coverage makeup, shades may appear deeper when first applied. Once blended completely and allowed to dry, Beyond Perfecting Makeup will blend into your skin for a Beyond Perfected flawless look – a little goes a long way.

This product is ophthalmologist tested, allergy tested, and 100 percent fragrance free.”

It has your usual 1 oz. of product and retails for $27. It’s quite affordable which is great so giving it a try wouldn’t hurt as much ๐Ÿ˜› It’s currently available in 21 shades and you can find this foundation at Clinique counters, the Clinique website, Sephora stores, Sephora websiteย Macy’s stores, Macy’s website, Ulta stores (I think), Ulta website, Nordstrom stores, Nordstrom website, Dillard’s stores, Dillard’s website. (at least that’s all the stores I could find it at).

Formula

The formula of this foundation is rather normal, normal in a sense that it isn’t thick or thin it’s more of an in between. It doesn’t feel thick once applied, it actually feels rather light and comfortable. However as you can see by the picture it is quite noticeable, so I guess make sure you get the correct shade. To be honest I don’t even think this shade was quite right for me. I thought it was a bit off. I think I’d probably would have to mix 2 foundations to get a color match. Anywho, formula wise it’s rather nice.

Overall Thoughts

Even though I really enjoyed the formula, I honestly didn’t like this foundation at all. Like I said due to the shade it is very noticeable on my skin, which I find weird because out of all the reviews I’ve seen on YouTube and blogs it looks unnoticeable once applied. It is as if it sinks into the skin nicely. However with me this isn’t the case. At first I really loved how it looked with one layer on. BUT, it didn’t cover much. It was rather sheer to medium coverage. I could still see the redness of my rosacea peeking through. So I applied another layer to see if it would cover it up and to see if it was buildable. Nope, it’s not buildable at all. It gets extremely cakey and just looks bad. So I wouldn’t recommend adding an extra layer. I tried it with both a brush and a beauty sponge. So this definitely beats the purpose of this being a 2 in 1 foundation, that you can double and use it as a concealer. If you do it will look cakey underneath the eyes which is every makeup lovers nightmare. Another peeve of mine was that it didn’t really set… ever! I let it sit on the face for maybe 15 minutes and it was still tacky and fresh. I did the touch test and wouldn’t you know the foundation clung to my fingertips and actually removed itself from the face as well… so weird! As far as fragrance goes, if you are familiar with Clinique products, they all have that same smell well in terms of foundations and concealers. I’m assuming it’s the no fragrance smell lol, so it has no scent which is good. Wear time, well it wore well for maybe a few hours I want to say maybe 5 hours? After that I started getting oily, mind you I did set it with a powder afterwards. Anyways, bummer I really wanted to love this foundation.

Here are a few photos of me wearing the foundation, just the foundation alone, no powder or anything. Some would say it looks nice but in my opinion it just doesn’t it just looks like you do have foundation on lol.

Fotor_14567227504171

Fotor_145672297305113

Fotor_145672291438975

Fotor_145672286441455

I just honestly didn’t didn’t like how it looked on the face. It clung to all my dry patches and just accentuated all the wrong features!

Fotor_145672179669368 (2)

And as you can see the foundation on my fingers when I touched my face.. no good.


Well lovies, I hope you enjoyed this review! If you can and are curious to try this foundation out, give it a go.. perhaps it just didn’t go well with me but like I said I’ve seen so many great reviews and tutorials about this foundation that maybe it will work for you! If you’ve tried this foundation let me now, share your thoughts below! Are you thinking of trying it out!?

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @christyy2010 & on Twitter @GlamNecessities

Screenshot 2015-07-24 at 3.28.33 AM - Edited

 

14 thoughts on “Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer Review

  1. ClassicMaggie says:

    That’s super disappointing! A few months ago when I was searching for a new foundation I had a few of Cliniques on my list but they couldn’t match me to any of their shades, they were all too pink for me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stashmatters says:

    I’ve been curious about this. I used to have a product similar to this from a Canadian brand, I really liked it but the packaging was leaky.
    Too bad this looks too obvious on you. That’s the problem with these 2 in 1 products – they can only really do well in one function. I think it’s looking mask-like due to the high silicone content in this product – it just kind of sits on top of the skin. Yikes, sucks it just rubs off like that! Imagine your shirt collars?

    Liked by 1 person

    • christyy2010 says:

      Omggg ! Lol I never thought of that and I almost always wear collar shirts!๐Ÿ˜จ ughh yes I think you’re right, products can only do so good when used simply for one purpose. But in this case it’s just no good at all :/ hmm, no wonder! I guess just like silicone based primers right? They just never set either!

      Like

Leave a Reply

